Inept Optometrists…

The following story transpired a few months ago…when i was there in India.  M not desingning here to interest or amuse the reader.  Its a narration of an incident, which really shd be counted as a material.

I had been suffering  headache on and off…So i decided to check with the power of my lens.. I found an Opticals nearby.. which advertised Computerised eye check up…n dispenses all kind of optical products  in a great scale.. That was my mistake…to choose an optometrist on the first case..I shd have chosen an Opthomologist.. {my sincere apologies here,  for causing resentful displeasure for those real gud ones(Optometrist)}.  Since i dint preserve my previous prescription..i wanted to confirm my present power of my spectacles.  I was safely entrenched behind undeniable facts. And, here my new prescription says…the power on my left eye has raised to -1.25 from -1 and right one has -1.5 from -1 and there was a lil cylindrical power too. With this, i odered a new frame and lenses.   Soon after i received my glasses, i tried and i found it difficult to adapt with it.  The images were vague..or to say..perceptible only in an indefinitive way.  I complained the optometrist abt this and he said it is very usual when u change the glasses with new power..and asked me to bring it back if the problem exists for another two days… I left with a consent.

Once,  back home..i rather found difficulty with my new specs, where i found like wearing someother’s specs unlike my power.  Yet, i did waited for the next 2 days.  It rather aggravated my head ache to a certain extent.  It sounded reasonable for me to get back to the Optometrist to deal with the spectacles.  But, I gave back the thot and insisted myself to run through an Opthomologist to deal with my head ache..whereas i wanted to clear my anticipation..considereing, whether m running a migraine attack..as i had moderately similar symptoms.  Obtaining an appointment with an Opthomologist, I  happen to unveil the history to him without interruption.  Listening patiently to my description, he tried to rule out the actual cause of my head ache.  To fortify the diagnosis.. he exercised with his normal procedures to check with my power and then with my head ache to acertain the cause with the symptoms.  Later,  he prescribed few medicines for my wrecking head-ache for a week and for a CT-scan and a referral to a Neurologist, if my head-ache persists.  Before i leave, he made something distinctly perceptible to my ear, that… the power with both my eyes are -1 and not as prescribed in the Optometrist’s prescription. The aggravation of head-ache might be due to the incongruous effect of the newly prescribed lenses.  Staggered!!!

Obliviate my actual cause of head ache… What shd i do with these kind of Optometrist who are highly irresponsible of their job..where people trust them to be prescribed with their lenses even disregarding the highly qualified Opthomologists.  These Dipensing Opticians shd be entrusted for one’s care…when People depend on them, where they spend enough money to buy the frames and contact lenses..and more over to lend their own eyes with reliance on their integrity….rather than  leaving behind with their capricious response.

Aghast with my experience, to strengthen myself with some added piece of support…retaining my Opthal’s prescription i went on to another Optometrist to purchase a new lens.  But this time, before exhibiting the Opthal’s prescription…i insisted him to chk my power to interpret a reply as favorable. {My sincere apologies here to the Opthals..since m not deliberately doubting everyone in this case..i just wanted to counter-check with my problem}.  For christ sake, it elucidated me by furnishing the same as in the Doc’s prescription.  M happy that not all the Optometrists are inept.

And back with my head-ache, i got my CT-scan done..witht the Neurologist opinion…n found quite interestingly well.  It seemd that i needed to spend a CT-scan for my head-ache to vanish.  Nothing to worry…and m hale and hearty.

About bhony

Hi This is Bhony. Mom of a 2 year old handsome n lovable kid(Samuel). I have varied interests..which i wud like to share with my dear n near.. I have been looking for a space to express my thoughts..feelings..I guess i have found one. I believe..I'm in a gud shape right now to roll the ball on..
This entry was posted in Contemplations !!!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inept Optometrists…

  1. bruce jass says:

    hi akka
    again its me,bruce.the above narrated story is very common in all indian’s life.here there are many irresponsible idiots who were not worried abt the resulting problems caused by their carelessness.

    tk care akka………

  2. Suhanya says:

    agree agree. but tuch woo never happenned to me… so far….

Leave a comment